“Hot Topics in Contemporary Crystallography”

“Hot Topics in Contemporary Crystallography”

The workshop “Hot Topics in Contemporary Crystallography” has been held in Šibenik, Croatia, from May, 10th to May, 15th, 2014 organized by Croatian Association of Crystallographers. One of the aim of this workshop was to mark the 2014 – UN proclaimed international year of crystallography in Croatia. Six “hot topics” were addressed during the intense four working days of the workshop:

1) Hot topics in macromolecular crystallography (by prof. dr. Elspeth Garman, University of Oxford, UK),

2) The whole is more than the sum of its parts (by prof. dr. Hans-Beat Buergi, University of Bern, Switzerland),

3) Charge density (by prof. dr. Dietmar Stalke, University of Goettingen, Germany),

4) Absolute structure and absolute configuration (by prof. dr. Howard Flack, University of Geneve, Switzerland),

5) Twinning in crystallography (by dr. Regine Herbst-Irmer, University of Goettingen, Germany), and

6) Advanced solutions from the Cambridge Structural Database (by Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre, UK).

The main workshop aims were promotion of excellence and innovations in crystallography, transfer of state-of-the-art knowledge and know-how to the most talented and motivated PhD students and postdocs in crystallography and related disciplines, popularization of crystallography, and celebration of the International Year of Crystallography – 2014.

Participants, who were chosen among the highly motivated applicants – young scientists working in crystallography and related fields, were invited to present their own research via short talks or posters. Boris Zakharov employed by Novosibirsk State University (Chair of Solid State Chemistry) presented a short oral presentation entitled “Combination of X-ray diffraction and Raman spectroscopy for analysis of phase transitions and intermolecular interactions in molecular crystals at extreme conditions”. A small number of participants invited to the workshop gave a chance to share their ideas and experience among them, as well as to discuss their work and problems they encounter with the experienced senior scientists who attended as lecturers.

Participants of the workshop

Participants of the workshop “Hot Topics in Contemporary Crystallography”. Photo provided by Croatian Association of Crystallographers.

«Горячие точки современной кристаллографии»

«Горячие точки современной кристаллографии»

С 10 по 15 мая 2014 года в Шибенике (Хорватия) проходила конференция «Горячие точки современной кристаллографии», организованная Хорватской ассоциацией кристаллографов. Одной из главных целей данной конференции в Хорватии было отметить 2014 год – год, объявленный ООН Международным годом кристаллографии. Во время четырех дней интенсивной работы мероприятия активно обсуждались шесть “горячих точек” современной кристаллографии:

1) Горячие точки макромолекулярной кристаллографии (Проф. Элспет Гарман, Университет Оксфорда, Соединенное Королевство),

2) Целое – это больше, чем сумма частей (Проф. Ганс-Бит Бюрги, Университет Берна, Швейцария),

3) Электронная плотность (Проф. Дитмар Шталке, Университет Геттингена, Германия),

4) Абсолютная структура и абсолютная конфигурация (Проф. Говард Флэк, Университет Женевы, Швейцария),

5) Двойникование в кристаллографии (Д-р Регина Хербст-Ирмер, Университет Геттингена, Германия),

6) Передовые решения от Кембриджского Банка структурных данных (Кембриджский центр кристаллографической информации).

Основными целями конференции были продвижение передового опыта и инноваций в кристаллографии, передача знаний и ноу-хау наиболее талантливым аспирантам и молодым ученым, работающим в области кристаллографии и других дисциплинах, имеющих к ней отношение, популяризация кристаллографии, празднование Международного года кристаллографии – 2014.

Участники конференции, отобранные среди наиболее мотивированных подавших заявки молодых ученых и аспирантов, работающих в области кристаллографии и других имеющих к ней отношение дисциплин, были приглашены для представления их собственных исследовательских работ в виде устных докладов или постеров. Сотрудник НГУ Борис Александрович Захаров (кафедра химии твердого тела ФЕН) представил на данной конференции устный доклад «Совмещение рентгеноструктурного анализа и КР-спектроскопии для анализа фазовых переходов и межмолекулярных взаимодействий в молекулярных кристаллах в экстремальных условиях». Небольшое число участников конференции дало уникальную возможность молодым ученым поделиться друг с другом идеями и опытом, а также обсудить свою научную работу и проблемы, возникшие в ходе ее выполнения, с более опытными старшими коллегами, выступившими на конференции в качестве лекторов.

Участники конференции «Горячие точки современной кристаллографии». Фотография предоставлена Хорватской ассоциацией кристаллографов.

Участники конференции «Горячие точки современной кристаллографии». Фотография предоставлена Хорватской ассоциацией кристаллографов.